The following twenty-five individuals are members of the inaugural North Carolina Black Entrepreneurship Council:

Executive Committee

  • Shannon Baylor-Henderson, Content Commanders (Elizabeth City)
  • Dee McDougal, Capco (Durham)
  • Kevin Price, NC Institute of Minority Economic Development (Durham)
  • Doug Speight, AnnexTech Partners (Greensboro)
  • Terik Tidwell, Smith Tech-Innovation Center at Johnson C. Smith University (Charlotte)
  • Desmond Wiggan, BatteryXchange (Charlotte)
  • Allan Younger, Forsyth Technical Community College (Winston-Salem)


  • Nikita Allen, GROWMETIX (Charlotte)
  • Katrece Boyd, Small Business and Technology Development Center (Raleigh)
  • Spencer Disher, Charlotte Angel Fund (Charlotte)
  • Jerry Edmonds, Vance-Granville Community College (Henderson)
  • Ijeoma Emeka, Bank of America (Charlotte)
  • Perry Harker, Carteret Community College (Beaufort)
  • Patricia Harris, UNC Chapel Hill, School of Education (Chapel Hill)
  • Tonya Lynch, The Black Light Project (Greenville)
  • Alyssa Martina, Doherty Center for Creativity, Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Elon)
  • Gerry McCants, McCants, LLC (Greensboro)
  • Rosanna Mulcahy, City of Asheville-Office of Economic Development (Asheville)
  • Dana Newell, BentonNewell Communication (Greenville)
  • Karl Ricanek, Lapetus Solutions Inc. (Wilmington)
  • Kristi Tally, KD7 Enterprises Inc. (Raleigh)
  • Iesha Usher, Smiile (Greensboro)
  • Natalie Williams, The Women’s Business Center of Charlotte (Charlotte)


The NC BEC is supported by NC IDEA staff, Andrea Cook, Aya Okale-Weeks and Thom Ruhe. For questions, please connect with one of these individuals directly or email